NHL hands out awards in Vegas


The NHL Awards show took place Wednesday night in Las Vegas. Here are the 2015-2016 winners.

HART & LINDSAY – Patrick Kane became the first American-born player in League history to win the Hart Trophy as the NHL’s most valuable player. He also took home the Ted Lindsay Award as the most outstanding player as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association. Kane garnered 121 of the 150 first-place votes available. First runner-up was the Penguins’ Sidney Crosby. Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars was third. Kane was already the first American-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy as the League’s leading scorer, tallying 106 points in the regular season.

CALDER – Artemi Panarin, Kane’s linemate won the Calder Trophy as the League’s top rookie. Panarin finished with 1,258 voting points and 88 first-place votes. Flyers defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere and Oilers center Connor McDavid were 2nd and 3rd. Jack Eichel finished fourth in the voting.

VEZINA – Braden Holtby won the Vezina Trophy as the League’s best goalie. He was listed first on 26 of the 30 ballots. Ben Bishop of the Lightning and Jonathan Quick of the Kings were runners up.

JACK ADAMS – Capitals coach Barry Trotz won the Jack Adams Award for the first time in his career. This was the third time he was a finalist. His team won the Presidents’ Trophy with 120 points, setting a franchise record for total wins (49) and road wins (29).

NORRIS – Kings defenseman Drew Doughty won the Norris Trophy. He was named on 147 of the 150 ballots submitted and received 93 first-place votes. Doughty had 51 points, averaged 28:01 of ice time per game and helped the Kings finish third in goals-against per game (2.34). He had a plus 24 rating and was on the ice for 537 more even-strength shot attempts than against.

SELKE – Kings Center Anze Kopitar won the Selke Trophy and is the first Kings player in history to win the Selke Trophy as the League’s top defensive forward. He finished second in the voting in 2014 and third last year.

LADY BYNG – Kopitar also won the Lady Byng Trophy, awarded to “the player who best exhibits sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability”. He led the Kings with 74 points and had 16 penalty minutes despite leading all NHL forwards in total ice time. He was also second in the NHL with a plus 34 rating. Sabres center Ryan O’Reilly finished fifth in the balloting for the Lady Byng Award.

GM OF THE YEAR – Penguins GM Jim Rutherford won the General Manager of the Year Award. The vote for GM is conducted after the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

MASTERTON – Perrenial fan favorite Panthers right wing Jaromir Jagr won the Bill Masterton Trophy for his sportsmanship as well as his dedication and perseverance to the game. Jagr, 44, led the Panthers with 66 points and helped them set franchise records with 47 wins and 103 points.

MESSIER – Nashville Predators captain Shea Weber won the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.

CLANCY – Vancouver Canucks captain Henrik Sedin won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy.

NHL FOUNDATION – Calgary Flames captain Mark Giordano won the NHL Foundation Player Award.