Connect with us

Sabres Alert

McCabe, Johansson get A’s

Sabres name their alternate captains

The Sabres named their alternate captains on Wednesday, giving Jake McCabe and Marcus Johansson the A’s on their jerseys. 

It’s a little surprising to see a new player to the team get a letter right off the bat. This comes after the Sabres had Kyle Okposo and Jason Pominville as alternates last season. 

Johansson becomes the second Swedish player to wear a letter for Buffalo. The only other one was Henrik Tallinder during the 2013-14 season.

“Just looking at practice – it feels like guys are ready. I mean, there’s high intensity, guys look hungry. – Johansson

Here’s a complete list of all the Sabres captains and alternates:

1970-71Floyd Smith
1971-72Gerry Meehan
1972-73Gerry Meehan
1973-74Gerry Meehan
1974-75Jim Schoenfeld
1975-76Jim Schoenfeld
1976-77Jim Schoenfeld
1977-78Danny Gare
1978-79Danny Gare
1979-80Danny Gare
1980-81Danny Gare
1981-82Danny Gare
1982-83Gilbert Perreault
1983-84Gilbert Perreault
1984-85Gilbert PerreaultLindy Ruff
1985-86Gilbert PerreaultLindy Ruff
1986-87Lindy RuffMike Foligno
1987-88Lindy RuffPhil Housley
Mike Foligno
1988-89Mike FolignoPhil Housley
Lindy Ruff
1989-90Mike FolignoPhil Housley
Mike Ramsey
1990-91Mike FolignoDale Hawerchuk
Mike Ramsey
1991-92Mike RamseyDale Hawerchuk
Dave Andreychuk
1992-93Pat LaFontaineDale Hawerchuk
Doug Bodger
1993-94Alexander MogilnyDale Hawerchuk
Pat LaFontaineDoug Bodger
1994-95Pat LaFontaineDale Hawerchuk
Doug Bodger
1995-96Pat LaFontaineRandy Burridge
Doug Bodger
1996-97Michael PecaRandy Burridge
Pat LaFontaine
1997-98Michael PecaRob Ray
Donald Audette
1998-99Michael PecaRob Ray
Darryl Shannon
1999-00Michael PecaJason Woolley
Rob Ray
2000-01Jason Woolley
Doug Gilmour
Rob Ray
2001-02Stu BarnesJason Woolley
Rob Ray
2002-03Stu BarnesJason Woolley
Rob Ray
2003-04Chris DruryMiroslav Satan
Daniel Briere
J.P. Dumont
James Patrick
2005-06Daniel BriereTeppo Numminen
Chris Drury
2006-07Daniel BriereTeppo Numminen
Chris Drury
2007-08Jochen HechtJaroslav Spacek
Jason PominvilleBrian Campbell
Toni Lydman
2008-09Craig RivetJochen Hecht
Teppo Numminen
2009-10Craig RivetDerek Roy
Jochen Hecht
2010-11Craig RivetPaul Gaustad
Jochen Hecht
Jason Pominville
Derek Roy
2011-12Jason PominvillePaul Gaustad
Derek Roy
Thomas Vanek
Drew Stafford
2012-13Jason PominvilleThomas Vanek
Drew Stafford
Steve Ott
2013-14Steve OttChristian Ehrhoff
Thomas VanekDrew Stafford
Henrik Tallinder
Zemgus Girgensons
2014-15Brian GiontaPatrick Kaleta
Josh Gorges
Matt Moulson
Mike Weber
2015-16Brian GiontaTyler Ennis
Josh Gorges
Ryan O'Reilly
2016-17Brian GiontaTyler Ennis
Josh Gorges
Ryan O'Reilly
2017-18Zach Bogosian
Jack Eichel
Ryan O'Reilly
Kyle Okposo
2018-19Jack EichelKyle Okposo
Jason Pominville
2019-20Jack EichelMarcus Johansson
Jake McCabe

Click to comment