Dahlin suffers concussion in loss

During the Sabres’ loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning on Monday night, Rasmus Dahlin took an elbow to the head. It looked to be unintentional, but Erik Cernak drilled Dahlin right in the face, yet, there was no penalty called. 




The Sabres were in the offensive zone on the power play when it happened, and Dahlin quickly went down to the ice as play continued. Cernak was not penalized for this:

I’m not sure what the referees were looking at, but this seemed to be an extremely obvious call. Forget about the non-penalty call, though, as the worse news is that Dahlin now has a concussion. 

Cernak will likely at least have a hearing with NHL’s Player Safety. 




Kevin Freiheit
Kevin Freiheit
I founded Buffalo Hockey Central in 2008 and have poured hours and hours into this site. Luckily, we have a great team of writers and designers who have helped keep this up and running despite a ton of out-of-pocket costs. We do this because we enjoy it, and we're desperate to see the Sabres win the Cup someday, but they have to make the playoffs first.

Follow BHC:

49,027FansLike
1,556FollowersFollow