Draisaitl, Ovi, Bruins highlight awards

The National Hockey League made it official when the regular season was canceled, that we’d have our known award winners. 

Art Ross Trophy – Leon Draisaitl was incredible for the Edmonton Oilers this past season. He had 110 points (43 goals, 67 assists) in 71 games with a decent shot at reaching the 50-goal plateau for the second straight season. Connor McDavid was behind him with 97 points, while Artemi Panarin and David Pastrnak each had 95. Jack Eichel finished 10th in the league in points with 78. 

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy – Given annually to the leading goal-scorer, this year ended in a tie as Pastrnak and Alex Ovechkin each had 48. Auston Matthews was one behind at 47. Eichel was eighth on the list with 36. 

William M. Jennings Trophy – This is given to the goaltender with the fewest goals scored against (minimum of 25 games). The Bruins were dominant all season long, so it’s no surprise that Tuukka Rask and Jaroslav Halak share this one. Rask had a league-leading 2.12 GAA and a 2nd-best save percentage of .929, only behind Anton Khudobin’s .930, twice a former Bruin.

We will still have to wait for other trophies to be awarded such as the Calder and the Vezina.

Kevin Freiheit
I founded Buffalo Hockey Central in 2008 and have poured hours and hours into this site. Luckily, we have a great team of writers and designers who have helped keep this up and running despite a ton of out-of-pocket costs. We do this because we enjoy it, and we're desperate to see the Sabres win the Cup someday, but they have to make the playoffs first.
[td_block_social_counter facebook="BuffaloHockeyCentral" twitter="BHCdotcom" custom_title="Follow BHC:" header_color="#002654" open_in_new_window="y"]